Colorado skies are good for the soul

8 Oct

Last week was one of those stressful weeks where emotions were high and I was feeling overwhelmed, but luckily I can go for a run and at least for that 1 hour or so, all is well in the world. The Colorado blue sky is oh so blue that it looks fake; leaves on the Aspen trees are turning from green to yellow, and the weather is just simply cool and crisp. Perfect. Running. Weather.

Colorado is an amazing place to live. We have access to so many trails and mountains, running communities and races, but it has always been the sunny skies and the weather that makes me love this place so much! Yes sometimes, we get snow in September and yes, most years we will get snow in May, and yes, I get really really pissy about having to run in the snow in May, BUT it is not that wet, bitter cold snow that people often think about when they think of snow. In most cases where I live (Denver area), when it snows in the morning and the sun is out, that snow is gone by the evening commute home. Unless it is a blizzard. Then it’s fun for like the first day, then it gets old, but I digress. It is truly hard to not love a place that is sunny for more than 300 days out of the year. Truly.

So, despite my emotional week, I took it to the trails and did my best to soak up the Colorado skies and they did what they usually do: gave me clarity, lifted my spirits, and of course made my lungs burn with all the elevation gain. Here are some of my favorite moments from the week, captured in photos.

The Bluffs in Highlands Ranch Colorado. These are my go-to trails. I run these every week, usually a few times a week. It is one of those trails that I know every inch of. I run these from my house so I have my 6, 8, 10 and even 22 miler mapped out all along here. You can also connect up to part of the East-West Connector Trail for more and more miles and hardly cross a road.

IMG_2080

South Valley in Littleton CO. Right here in the foothills, there are a lot of different trails to explore: Waterton Canyon, Deer Creek Canyon, Ken Caryl, etc.  South Valley is an easier one compared to Deer Creek Canyon but so pretty and still you are going to climb a little.

Colorado Trail Running

the climb up is worth it when you turn around to see the view

Colorado Trail Running

A beautiful run to help clear the mind.

The chicks in my neighborhood have started a Wednesday Wine Night. We rotate houses and each week the host is responsible for the drink (Sangria, wine, Vodka Slushies, etc) and we are responsible for showing up with our special glass (One of the ladies made all of our glasses- so awesome). It’s our night for girl talk (make up, men, our lack of fashion, kids stuff, crafts, work, whatever). Girl Power!

good neighbors

You know where to find me on Wednesday nights

Noah and I ventured off to Anderson Farms, up in Erie CO and had a big ol time riding a pony, checking out the farm equipment “like his Pa has”, picking out a “pinky punkin” (he calls things that are little, pinky), playing on the toy trains (like Chuggington), running through the corn maize. I highly, highly recommend the trip up there. So much to do.

pumpkin patch

wagon riding, pumpkin picking and pony riding were big fun for this little man

So, despite it being an emotional week, I have a lot to be thankful for, got some good running in, got to do some fun things with the little man, and got to enjoy our beautiful Colorado weather. It was good for the soul.

No, this wasn’t my typical weekly recap, but I still got in my miles (35 for the week) and my workouts (1 Yoga Class + 2 strength workouts). These next 2 weeks look really good for me in terms of structured workouts and good miles. I’m still really enjoying taking it easy. I am looking for a 5K race that fits my schedule… just to see what sort of numbers I could put up. We will just have to see.

What’s been good for your soul lately?

8 Responses to “Colorado skies are good for the soul”

  1. CultFit October 8, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    Some of my favorite memories have been made in Colorado. :)

    • kandjcolorado October 9, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

      It’s not a bad place at all…. But you know that ;-)

  2. Dominick S. October 8, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    I like replacing “mini” with “pinky”, the kid has some cool language skills. Your runs always look so peacefully grueling…the trail is quickly becoming my happy place…roads, not so much.

    • kandjcolorado October 9, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

      Yep, he’s a pretty funny kiddo. I’m glad you have been getting out on the trails some more. Lots of benefits to it, plus it breaks up the monotony of your training miles. At least for me it does since I’m not usually as worried about pace on the trails and more concerned about powering up the hills and staying tight on the downs. Love it!

  3. Erin October 8, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Yes, they most certainly are. The altitude though…now, that’s a different story :)

    • kandjcolorado October 9, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

      Yep, the altitude definitely adds a whole other dimension to it, for sure!

  4. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast October 9, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    I am always jealous of where you live when I see your Instagram pics- gorgeous! Sorry about the emotional week. Monday was like that for me- post race blues, I think. But I feel better today! Girl time would definitely help snap me out of it.

    • kandjcolorado October 9, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      Oh, all will be okay. Just being dramatic, I suppose. Girl time is super silly and tons of fun though!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

