Motivation Monday

14 Oct

I don’t know about you but I can always use a reminder from time to time about why I love the sport I love or something funny to keep me going just one more mile or something to help pump me up for the next big race. Here are some things that come to my mind this morning heading into a week filled with projects and to-do lists.

ONE:

Challenged Athletes Foundation San Diego Triathlon is this coming Sunday. Seeing over 300 disabled athletes competing in this triathlon will give you goosebumps that lasts for days! I’m going with my buddy, Trish- we do Camp Discovery together (that amazing weekend camp for women in wheelchairs that I have been meaning to write about…). We will be meeting up with our San Diego buddy, Jill for a little friendly competition. We put together 2 teams to compete against each other for the relay portion (for fun, of course): Colorado Crush and Crush Colorado.

Click HERE to see some awesome photos of last year’s race. I have a 10 mile run that I hope to put a killing on, but really I am pumped to see my SD friends and get my fitness on for the few days I am there.

TWO:

Running in a beautiful place. Or a new place to explore. Leave your headphones at home and truly enjoy the moment of being outside and hearing the world around you whether it is listening to the sounds of the woods or the hustle and bustle of the city sounds. I love Colorado for its variety of adventure it can offer me. Do yourself a favor and get outside to enjoy the beautiful day.

trail running in Colorado

A beautiful fall day running at Waterton Canyon

THREE:

Funny race signs or funny messages from my friends. These were some from this week. Take time this week to send a friend a message to lift their spirits or simply make them smile. It will make you smile too.

My friend, Erin reminded me to  take some time to do "The Routine".

My friend, Erin reminded me to take some time to do “The Routine”.

Love me a good race sign to help distract me from the pain

Love me a good race sign to help distract me from the pain

Running last week started off good but had to get put on the back burner for the weekend due to a hurt little boy who needed some extra cuddles. He hurt his leg and could barely walk on it for a couple of days so our weekend plans of hiking, running and playing outside had to be altered. Instead we played trucks, puzzles, watched Madagascar 1, 2 AND 3 and this mama caught up on a little sewing. I’m making a t-shirt quilt and should be finished this week so that’s exciting. Noah is all better now as evident by the jumping on my bed this morning. I finished the week out of 21 miles, 3 Yoga classes, and 2 strength workouts. But those were some excellent running miles, confidence boosting miles so I will take ‘em!

Another thing worth mentioning is Terzah, of BQ Before 40 qualified for Boston. That girl finally got out of her head, cleared her mind of self doubt and did what all of us who know her knew she could do. Chicago Marathon was good to her. She earned her 2015 Boston spot and when I saw her time Sunday morning (I was tracking her), I cried. Actually cried tears of joy for her.

What about you? What is motivating you this week??

12 Responses to “Motivation Monday”

  1. Chocolate Covered Race Medals October 14, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    My health is motivating me this week! haha — My body has NOT been happy with me lately.

  2. Dominick S. October 14, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    I like each of these 3 sections. Have fun in San Diego!

    Motivation this week…the taper. Focusing on race day begins now.

    • kandjcolorado October 14, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      Oh…. the taper! I do not envy going through the taper. But, hell yeah, the taper baby – your race is almost here!!!!

      • Dominick S. October 14, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

        Oh you’re a big help.

  3. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast October 14, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    I am SO, so thrilled for Terzah, too. She deserved that BQ, so glad it finally came together for her!!

  4. stridingmom October 14, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    That Humpty Dumpty sign just trumped my ol’ race fave: “Smile if you’re not wearing any underwear”

    • kandjcolorado October 14, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

      I don’t know about that!!! Anything with underpants, poop or farts is pretty dang funny! Except when I have to clean them, then yuck :-(

      • stridingmom October 15, 2013 at 7:10 am #

        Oh this is so true!!

  5. Terzah October 16, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

    You are so sweet to mention me here! Any reminder of Sunday makes me happy, and I’m glad it made other people happy too. That’s humbling.

    I saw a funny sign on the Chicago course. It said “I have money in my shoes. So I have…CASHEWS.” It was so NOT funny that in that moment it was hugely funny, and it made me smile, which was a good thing.

    • kandjcolorado October 17, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

      See…. that’s a good sign!!! It made you think and laugh and made the mile go by a little faster! Love that stuff!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 643 other followers

