WIAW + A New Workout

16 Oct

For whatever reason, you people like reading about what The Bear and I like to do and eat so here you go. Just for the record, I think we are pretty boring but whatever. If you think so too, feel free to scroll down to the good stuff: pictures and the workout.

Yesterday’s eats for the little one and I were much more on the up and up. It was a pretty typical Tuesday: easy going morning, go to the gym, playtime, lunch, nap time for Noah and study time for me, Halloween art project for Noah (thanks to my high school friend, Dawn for the inspiration), playtime and ice cream at Chick-Fil-A (yes before dinner, because I’m cool like that), dinner, movie, play time, bed time.

Breakfast for Noah: bowl of Cascadian Farm Organic Cinnamon Crunch cereal with unsweetened almond milk

Breakfast for Me: 1 egg and 3 egg whites with Cholula sauce and a few strawberries plus 2 cups of coffee

toddler eats

Pre Workout Snack for Me: 1 Halloween chocolate dipped sugar cookie, thank you very much – my workout was fantastic by the way thanks in part to my excellent fueling choice.

Noah’s snack: 6 chocolate animal crackers and some of my cookie

pumpkin cookie

Lunch for Noah: slice of cheese on English muffin, cucumbers, 1 apple slice, sugar snap pea crisps

Lunch for Me: leftover Butternut Squash and Black Bean burrito (awesome recipe HERE from Oh She Glows) and apple slices

Snack for me: Kale Chips and Tea

Snack for Noah: vanilla ice cream cone

ice cream

Dinner for Me: Meatloaf, Sweet Potato Mash, Roasted Balsamic Vinegar Brussel Sprouts + 2 Blue Moon Pumpkin Ales – that’s dessert, right?

Dinner for Noah: chicken nuggets, creamed corn, and sweet potatoes

WIAW

 

So, on to the good stuff….

My Latest Workout: I perform 1 set of 10 of each exercise and repeat for a total of 3 sets. Then I move on to the next round. I will usually increase my reps to 12 the next week and then 15 the following week before I change up the routine again. I also don’t usually rest between exercises unless I feel like I need it.

Warm Up: 10 minutes on the Step Mill or your choice of cardio equipment (by the end of your warm up you should be sweating)

Round One:

  1. Step Ups with a Knee Lift while holding a medicine ball overhead
  2. Decline Push Ups
  3. Ball Pike Ups (hands on the platform, feet on the ball)
  4. Basic Crunch

Round Two:

  1. Ball Squat with 10 tiny pulses on 10 (I also hold 3-5 lb dumb bells straight out in front for the entire duration of the exercise)
  2. Bicep Curls with resistance tube (instead of 10 reps, I perform these for 30 seconds with good form as fast as I can stand it)
  3. Reverse Crunch
  4. Forearm Plank with Side to Side Hip Touch (10 on each side)

Round Three:

  1. Upside Down Bosu Lunge (10 on each side) – front foot on the Bosu the other on a platform with overhead dumb bell press
  2. Single Leg Ball Hamstring Curl
  3. Cable Row
  4. Supine Leg Raises with Medicine Ball Overhead — this one is a killer for me. You have to focus on keeping your lower back on the floor with no arch for the entire exercise. For me, after like 6 I am struggling to keep that arch out of my back – I need to work on my core!

I can usually get this done in 45 minutes. Ways that I modify the workout is that in addition to my 10 minute warm up, I will perform 3-5 vigorous minutes of cardio (usually the row machine) between each round. This will add another 15 minutes to the workout.

Give it a shot and let me know what you think.

7 Responses to “WIAW + A New Workout”

  1. CultFit October 16, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    If I shared with you that my Son and I had almost exactly the same dinner on Monday, would you believe me? One minor difference though, a twist instead of a vanilla cone :) Inspiring workout, great job!!!

  2. Corey Mixon October 16, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    Nice…we only use unsweetened almond milk and Lauren does chocolate almond milk to, cool workout btw !

  3. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast October 16, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    Look at you doing wiaw again! That workout looks awesome. I’ve really been slacking with my s/t lately. I am terrible at getting it in when marathon training. Can’t wait to pick it up in a few weeks!

    • kandjcolorado October 17, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      It’s a tough workout but a good one. Definitely let me know what you think about it!

  4. Dominick S. October 17, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    Nice workouts. I am trying to figure out how to transition from marathoner to machine…thanks for the road map.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 640 other followers

