Catch Up

30 Oct

Let’s catch up, shall we?

My world has been in a state of flux for the past few months. A lot has been changing and that can be overwhelming no matter what you are going through, big or small. A friend told me to “focus on the gator closest to the boat” -gotta love my Southern friends :-) When we have a lot going on, it can become so overwhelming that, at least for me, I get scattered and start to lose my focus and feel like I’m not getting anything accomplished because I am overwhelmed at the possibility of everything around me. So this little “gator” quote reminds me to prioritize and re-prioritize as needed. So lately for me, the gator closest to the boat has been to study.

1. I take my Personal Trainer certification next Monday. I have been studying like a fool over the past 2 months for this sucker (it’s typically at least a 6 month study program). Since May, I have become a certified running coach (through RRCA) and a Group Fitness Instructor (through ACE) in hopes to forge through a new career path. Ages ago (college and grad school) I was a Fitness Director and Personal Trainer. At the time I didn’t necessarily see it as a career path more or less as something I enjoyed doing and got paid for it. I was still pretty focused on attaining my dream job as a Recreation Therapist doing adaptive sports. Funny how life spins you around. I’m now in a position where I get to do both and hopefully make a career out of it. Fingers crossed.

2. I ran a pretty great race at the San Diego Triathlon Challenge for Challenged Athletes Foundation. I ran 10 miles in 1:11, a 7:08 pace (according to my watch) but a 1:13 according to the official time clock. Why the big difference, you ask??? Well, they had a kids race about the same time that I was coming in to the finish line and all the parents were in the middle of the finish line. I had to wait for them to clear all the parents snapping pictures of their kiddos with their shiny medals. No biggie. I ran a strong race, but I ran scared. I had someone on my heels for the entire race and was stubborn enough not to let him pass me. We hugged a sweaty hug after the race thanking each other for the fast-paced push. I think I finished up 4th or 5th overall and 2nd female. It was a super fun week in San Diego with my friends. Much needed. And for the record, Colorado Crush beat Crush Colorado by 6 minutes. Weeee!!!

SDTC 2013

3. I’ve been sewing. A lot. I finally finished up a t-shirt quilt I had been putting off. I’m now cutting up Noah’s old clothes from when he was a baby so I can upcycle those into a cute little quilt as well. I have made a few tote bags too in search for a pattern I like for the race bib tote I’m trying to make. I’ve searched Google extensively about it, but haven’t quite found what I’m looking for so I’m gonna wing it. I have plenty of bibs to practice with so I will be giving that a whirl in the upcoming weeks. But if any of you can help me figure out a.) what to use as a cover to protect the bibs (clear vinyl, laminating sheets?) and b.) how to make this sucker so that I don’t have to flip the outside layer with the bibs- because I think it will be too stiff and difficult to turn right side out. *If you have sewn a bag, you will know what I mean by all that nonsense.

t-shirt quilt crafting

4. Noah is still pretty stinkin’ cute and chatty, but phewwwie is he ever going through a not-so-fun phase right now. Mr. Defiant, Mr. Whiny, Mr. Independent, and Mr. I’m-Going-to-Ignore-Everything-You-Say, but at the end of the day he still gives excellent Bear Hugs that will just melt your heart. At least I go to bed thinking of him as Mr. Cuddles, Mr. Giggles, and Mr. Chatty until post-breakfast when he is throwing a fit because he doesn’t want to wear his airplane shirt, he wants to wear his digger shirt that is currently in the dirty laundry basket. It’s tough being almost 3.

no whining

I want to give a big shout out to Dominick running the NYC Marathon this weekend!!!!! Wishing you fast feet, a strong stomach, and the ability to walk back to your hotel room without a hobble in your step. You will do great! Woo-Hoo!!

So, what’s new with you?

4 Responses to “Catch Up”

  1. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast October 30, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    Oh yes, that is a tough age. Hang in there, it gets easier! Or maybe the hard phases come less often and don’t stick around for as long. Awesome pace on your ten miler!!

  2. Dominick S. October 30, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    SHUT THE FRONT DOOR with that 10 mile time! God, I am beginning to hate you on a entirely new level. Seriously though, that is awesome. Still waiting to see how far under 20 you will go at a 5k…I am thinking you have a 19 minute in you now. Glad to see things are hectic but good.

    THANKS for the shout out and well wishes. STILL NOT NERVOUS…WTF?!

  3. Julie H. October 30, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    I must comment on Noah! OMG I am going through the same thing with my son who is also 2 1/2….Glad to hear it must be the age. They are doing the same thing and their are days I feel like pulling my hair out when he just won’t make up his mind or stop whining or stop crying over the dumbest things! URGH! Cheers to wine and making us more sane and hoping this phase is over soon! :)

  4. Terzah October 30, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    That’s a fantastic 10-mile time. You are such a speedster. Life gets like that sometimes–you’ll be good. And Laura’s right about the kid phases. There are still hard bits, but they are much shorter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

