Moving Forward

18 Nov

I am one of those obnoxious people that can pull a Friends reference out of anything, very similar to how I can compare most life situations to running or the marathon. Just so you know, I’m rolling my eyes at myself too.

Since passing all of my various fitness and coaching certifications, I have been thinking a lot about how I would like my career path to look. What I would like to do, where do I want to work, what population I want to focus on, etc. It’s exciting, but scary.

I have wonderful friends and supporters who offer their ideas enthusiastically and I love it. Not just with running but with career advice and personal goals. They have made me a better person with their continued love and support and humor. My friend and super athlete Trish once told me that if I wasn’t a little nervous about it, then my goal wasn’t big enough. That’s why I like setting new running and fitness goals for myself. I like testing my boundaries (crazy single-track trails on the side of a mountain), I like pushing myself to places I didn’t think I could go (Ultra marathoning) plus, I like the hard work (I prefer training over racing).

With everything I do I like that forward progress. I want to know that I am moving forward in my career and not just settling or getting bored; I want to know that I moving forward personally, learning new things and trying to become the best version of me I can be.

So, even though I have been a little checked out in the blog world, I’m still trying to move forward, to keep going. Here’s what I’ve been up to.

Halloween costumes turned out super fun. Jim totally got into it too. Goofy, I do on a daily but it was cool for Noah to see Jim being silly too. Plus, he nailed Gru, don’t you think?!

Despicable Me

Vector, Gru, and a minion

Still running in beautiful Fall Colorado weather. Seriously, this has been the longest Fall I have seen since living in Colorado. The weather has been so wonderful and pleasant and sunny. Love, Love. My average weekly mileage is 30-35 and as much as possible it is spent out on the trails.

Colorado running

Nina Machina blazing through the trail

Goofing off with a seriously sweet little boy we like to call Noah. His favorite things right now: Anything Charlie Brown and Snoopy related; a blue towel (like Linus from Peanuts); firetrucks – actually anything with wheels; running around saying “Naked Booty” when we change his clothes; playing with his neighbors Mark & Anna.

dog cuddles

Noah being silly with Stella

Sewing. A lot. I made several personalized ABC books for friends and family and after that I got down to business with figuring out how to make a tote bag out of race bibs. After several versions, I think I have honed in on what works, which works out perfect because Nina’s birthday is this weekend and I was determined to have it finished by then complete with lining, pockets, and a magnetic snap.

race bib tote bags

I have taken over the kitchen table

I’ve had a lot of interest in how I did my race bib tote bag. I knew what I wanted to do but there isn’t much out there about it so I used multiple designs and brain storming sessions with my friends and Mom to make what I wanted.  I will post about that next and get you the resources that helped me a lot. I can also make a custom one for you or a loved one, so just email me if you’re interested.

What are ways that you remind yourself to move forward? To challenge yourself. To keep yourself moving in the right direction when you get off course.

 

7 Responses to “Moving Forward”

  1. Dominick S. November 18, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    Working on change right now as well. Glad to see you moving in the direction you want with the support of your family!

    • kandjcolorado November 18, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      Ooooh!!! Good Luck with your change! My friends are totally my family when my family is far away, ya know!

  2. racingthestates November 18, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    I’m still working on my own fitness business career ideas Which is why we should really get together for coffee. I still have my job with the fitness company I work for, but its only part time and since I’ll never be employed by a big box gym again, I’ve really been focusing on my goals and plans to be more financially independent and move forward with my life’s goals. I love the company I work for, but it’s just not enough hours – and all talk they have made is that they just want me to be “stable” and I don’t like that. I want to be more than stable and have extra funds to have fun; not just pay my bills.

    • kandjcolorado November 18, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      I hear ya sista! Let’s totally get together. I’m available this Thursday or Friday otherwise we can make something happen after Thanksgiving. Just email me at fitnesskel@yahoo.com and let’s see if we can brainstorm something!!!

  3. nmcvicker November 18, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

    You are so talented! I heart you :-)

  4. stridingmom November 20, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    TELL ME TELL ME TELL ME! Do you have a tutorial on how to make these? I would love to do this :) It would be a great blog post!

  5. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast November 22, 2013 at 5:38 am #

    You have been one busy, creative lady! As for moving forward, I definitely agree with the nervous tip- it takes guts to push beyond your limits and go for something, but you of all people can do it. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 643 other followers

