On Track (kinda)

21 Feb

I’m in week 5 of my Boston Marathon training with about 8 weeks to go. I had a slight panic attack that I was a little too far behind in my training and I thought I might have to hang in the towel. The panic came after not doing a stellar job of hitting all of my workouts and a week spent in San Fran doing fitness stuff but not running as much as I was supposed to, and eating way too much (zero self control). A couple of things pulled me out of that funk: finally recording all of my workouts on Daily Mile (that I haven’t done in over a week) and a glance over my upcoming week’s training schedule.

Tracking your workouts

I like numbers, most runners do. It’s instant feedback. Plus, it allows me to compare my workouts to my previous workouts. Once I input my data and included all of the other workouts I was doing, I realized that it wasn’t too shabby. So what if I didn’t do my Tuesday speed workout last week??? I took back to back tough spin classes (courtesy of my good buddy Bria). I think that counted for something. Plus, I did a lot of strength workouts and took some cardio and strength classes and learned a lot of great new stretches for runners and cyclists (albeit a wee bit painful). Once I looked over my workouts, I realized that I was still doing pretty well.

Looking over your training plan

I look at my plan at the beginning of each week and try to schedule out my day or week and weekend to make sure I can fit things in. Then I adjust as I go. It’s what I have to do to make it work. So, on Sunday when I was looking at last week’s training schedule and what I needed to do this week, I realized that I wasn’t too far off and I might have, maybe, just a tiny bit freaked out over nothing. Wouldn’t be the first time. So, even though my training up to this point isn’t terribly motivating, I do have a solid run base and have kept my fitness up so I’m staying the course!

Here’s this week’s schedule and how I have changed it:

Monday- 7 miles easy. Ended up with 6.5ish miles. It was a gorgeous day to meet up with fellow blogger, Dominick for a Red Rocks run. It was his first adventure to Colorado so we made sure to do it right. Most people drive to Red Rocks Amphitheater but I knew he wanted to do a trail run while out here so we knocked off 2 birds with one stone. I took him on the Matthews Winters/Red Rocks Trail (6.5 ish miles with plenty of up and down. The Amphitheater is your turnaround point so we walked the gazillion stairs to the top and walked around a bit before heading back. It was a beautiful day!

Tuesday- 7 miles Tempo (5 miles at 7:35 pace) + Strength Workout- after stuffing my face while standing at my kitchen counter, I somehow thought that of course, I should go for a treadmill run right after. My tummy had other thoughts. So I opted for a headlamp urban run through Highlands Ranch (if you can even call HR urban). It was fun though. I finished up with 6 miles at a 7:50 pace. Noah and I had a fun day playing so it wasn’t in the cards for a tough gym workout although I do feel a wee bit guilty about not hitting the TRX in my room, oh well.

Wednesday- Hill Repeats + Yoga. Weeeellllll, after deciding that I would be greatly modifying my plan for this week, I opted to lay off the hills and just go for a moderate effort run for 6 miles. It was a busy day so I couldn’t quite fit the Yoga in. I was on a roll. I’m launching my business’s new website next week and I needed to get down to business.

Thursday- easy 7 + Strength Workout, Yeah nope, this became a rest day. I was going to fit some Yoga or Strength in, but another busy day and  I need to let my body rest for what I am about to put it through for the rest of the weekend.

Friday- Yoga. What was supposed to be a light workout day is turning into a tough, tough, hilly 10ish miler in Boulder on a classic Boulder dirt run called Old Magnolia with some runner gals that I haven’t seen in ages that I need a dose of (Kathy of Got to Keep Running Long and Terzah of BQby40, plus Melissa- who I ran my first 50K with, and some other ladies training for their own crazy events). Yep, I’m excited!!!

Saturday- 20 miles (yep, it’s the first 20 miler of the year. Technically, I’m supposed to do it next week, but Nina is running 20 this week so I might just do 20 both weeks – I’m weird like that.

Sunday- 30-60 minutes easy jog + Strength + possibly Yoga if I can find a class that fits in to my schedule.

So, as you are reading this, I will be most likely walking up my first hill on Magnolia Road followed by some good ol pancake eating. So don’t feel too sorry for me.  I’m back, baby!!!

8 Responses to “On Track (kinda)”

  1. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast February 21, 2014 at 9:35 am #

    Definitely looks like you’re right on track, although I’ve been there with the panic attacks! I can’t believe how quickly the marathon is approaching!

    • kandjcolorado February 23, 2014 at 1:32 pm #

      Thanks Laura, I’m not where I want to be right now, but I just need to embrace the good and be thankful.

  2. Dominick S. February 21, 2014 at 10:25 am #

    A trail 10 miler followed by a 20 miler…run rabbit, run. You’re insane but I guess that is why I follow, it motivates me to be a little more aggressive in my workouts. Thanks again for the Red Rocks trail run. Such an awesome experience…ColoRADo definitely exceeded expectations.

    • kandjcolorado February 23, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

      So fun getting to run with you and experience your first Colorado trail run. Truly a pleasure!!!

  3. jumpeatrun February 21, 2014 at 11:55 am #

    You are totally on track and going to be fine! I am totally going to start stealing some of your trail spots :)

    • kandjcolorado February 23, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

      Thanks ;-) You should steal some!!! Or just come run with me!

  4. Terzah February 23, 2014 at 5:42 pm #

    Hey K! It was great to see you on Thursday, even if we didn’t serve you up the 10 miles you wanted in that wind. Good karma to you! Let me know if you want to run Magnolia (or any Boulder trails) any time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

