Week 6 of Boston Training

24 Feb

Last week brought me some fun running with good buddies. That’s always good for a running morale boost (after last week’s meltdown)! The pancakes that follow don’t hurt either. I have sprinkled in some of my favorite pictures from Friday’s run throughout this post for you to enjoy too.

colorado runners

Melissa, Kathy, and Jill enjoying the stretch of flat road

I finished last week with 52 miles and felt great. Saturday, I ran my first 20 miler of the year with Nina on a not-even-close-to-being-flat course and I am not ashamed to admit that I walked a good bit of it. I walked most of the hills and the slick spots of the mountain where it hasn’t seen the sun and it is still snowy.

Can't wait to run this baby again. Old Magnolia sure is pretty!

Can’t wait to run this baby again. Magnolia Road sure is pretty!

Nina and I were reflecting on the fact that we didn’t have our usual night before a 20-miler angst. We felt good coming into the 20 miler and it was really just another long run. But man, we were happy when it was done! I did 6 miles the next day and thought it would be tough, but it really wasn’t. My legs actually felt good and not creaky – SCORE!

Boulder

Mailboxes along Magnolia Road

This week I am determined to hit every single one of my workouts!!!

Monday- 6 miles easy + Yoga Sculpt class. I haven’t been to this class in a bit and I miss it. Looking forward to getting to it today.

Tuesday- 7 miles Speed Workout (4×1600 @ 6:59 pace w 800 recovery jog). + a Circuit class at the gym. I get 2 hours of childcare at the gym and I will use every bit of that time this day. I’m also going to a Jog-n-Grog with my running gals Tuesday evening so I will probably tack on some additional easy paced miles. I will probably end this day with 12 miles.

Wednesday- Spin class + Yoga. On my schedule, I have 5 easy miles, but since I haven’t had a run break since last Thursday I will substitute the miles for a spin class.

Thursday-Tempo Work. 2mi@9:00+20 min @7:30+10 min @9:00 + 20 min @7:30+ 2mi@9:00 + Strength Workout. I wasn’t at the gym last week for strength training and I could feel the difference. My strength training made a big difference in my performance last year and my recovery. So important for me to remember this.

Friday- Yoga. Ahhhh, a day of rest. Well, kind of. It will also involve pool time and trampoline time with the little man. I’m hoping I can talk him into a snuggle time movie night that evening.

Saturday- 20 miles. This run will have to be broken into 2 10 mile runs. I will run 10 miles on the treadmill so Noah can play at the gym, then Nina offered to watch Noah so I can run my other 10 miles outside. Woo-Hoo!

Sunday- 4 miles easy + Strength Workout. Noah has been wanting to go with me on my runs lately so I will have a 4 mile stroller run at a super easy pace in my future (as long as there is no snow). Then, we will just hit up the gym for an hour for me to workout and then head off to the pool for Noah to swim and flirt with the ladies.

Terzah wrote a great post about her experience with Old Mags and some of the other Classic Boulder runs. If you’re in the Boulder area, it’s worth a look for a long run. I’m looking forward to going back for a long run sometime this spring- hopefully when the wind doesn’t cause my head to rattle like it did on Friday. But that was okay, we ended our run early and opted to go stuff our faces at Tangerine and it was delightful, plus we were celebrating Kathy’s birthday!

Kathy was one happy girl at Tangerine!

Kathy was one happy girl at Tangerine!

9 Responses to “Week 6 of Boston Training”

  1. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast February 24, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    Aww, I met Kathy and Terzah in Houston and they are FANTASTIC ladies! Mmm, pancakes. Awesome job on your 50+ mile week… it wasn’t that long ago, but I completely forget what that’s like!

    • Terzah February 24, 2014 at 10:56 am #

      Thanks, Laura! :^)

    • kandjcolorado February 24, 2014 at 1:40 pm #

      Thanks. I love feeling good with the higher mileage. I hope it continues. And yep, it is pretty great having Kathy and Terzah around 😀

  2. Terzah February 24, 2014 at 10:57 am #

    You are going to rock Boston–it will be easy after Mags (and all those other crazy trails you do). I love the photos from Friday and thanks for referencing my post, too.

    • kandjcolorado February 24, 2014 at 1:42 pm #

      It was so lovely seeing you guys and I will definitely make a point to do it more often and get out of my crazy bubble that I’ve been living in this past year.

  3. jumpeatrun February 24, 2014 at 11:37 am #

    nice job on the 20! Looks like a pretty solid week of workouts ahead too!

    • kandjcolorado February 24, 2014 at 1:44 pm #

      Thanks lady! I’m excited about this week’s training!

  4. Jill February 24, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    Great job on the 20, Kelly – that had to feel great to get that first one off your back for the training. You’re going to have an incredible Boston!!

    Was so great to “meet” you officially; what a crazy day! Do you, by chance, have a picture of Terzah and I on the run? I thought you had taken one but I now I can’t remember. Thought I’d add it to my blog post (if I ever write one again :)). If you do, can you text it to me (303-521-7732) or post it on FB? Sorry I cluttered your private message on FB :).

    Hope we can run some trails together soon!! Have a fantastic week!

    • kandjcolorado February 24, 2014 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks for the reminder! I do have a good one of you guys and am happy to send it to you! You did not clutter anything, by the way lady!!! Let’s run together soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

