Bailing on Boston

21 Mar

So I have been putting off writing this post. For obvious reasons. This was a tough decision. One I may regret. But for right now, it is the best decision for me. I won’t be running Boston Marathon this year.

I made the decision a couple of weeks ago. It has nothing to do with my training and everything to do with the money and logistics and life. Life is anything but simple for me these days and I simply haven’t had the bandwidth to do the research it takes to figure out the logistics of my stay (I was staying with friends of friends 45 minutes outside of the city). Plus, financially it is irresponsible of me to take this trip when I simply don’t have the money. It’s an expensive trip. Wow.

Running The Boston Marathon has been a goal of mine since I began marathon running in 2003. I had thought that I would feel worse if I didn’t do Boston and would regret it, but since I made the decision, I feel okay about it. I actually felt relieved after I said it out loud to Nina. I made peace with it. There will be other races and I will qualify again. :)

I still have the North Fork 50 Miler the end of June. In the meantime, if there are some fabulous local races that fit into my schedule and budget, I would love to add those to the list as well (I’m thinking of the Greenland 50K, Colfax Marathon, maybe others).

Onward and upward, friends!

 

 

11 Responses to “Bailing on Boston”

  1. Kristin March 21, 2014 at 8:42 am #

    Oh, well I’m sorry to hear you will not be running Boston, but I’m very happy for you that you are fine with the decision and that you’re pushing forward! Good for you! Can’t wait to hear about your other races!! Xoxo!!! :)

    • kandjcolorado March 21, 2014 at 9:15 am #

      Yep. Tough decision for sure. Now guess I will be doing a Fall marathon 😉

      • Kristin March 21, 2014 at 9:19 am #

        Good luck with training!!! :)

  2. Chocolate Covered Race Medals March 21, 2014 at 9:05 am #

    I can’t imagine it was an easy decision but sounds like it was the right decision for you to make right now. You will get back to Boston!

    • kandjcolorado March 21, 2014 at 9:16 am #

      Thanks! Looks like a Fall marathon will be in my future.

  3. Amy March 21, 2014 at 9:56 am #

    Getting to Boston is ridiculously expensive (I actually didn’t apply this year because of the expense…even though it turns out I wouldn’t have gotten in anyway!). But you are a crazy strong runner and you will get there again! Hope everything in your life falls together soon!

  4. Dominick S. March 21, 2014 at 10:18 am #

    Bummer BUT smart. As everyone is saying, you have the ability to get back in when the timing is right. I hope all is else is going well and that you’re progressing on your other goals.

  5. racingthestates March 21, 2014 at 11:23 am #

    Do the Prairie Dog Half with me, April 13th! (I can get your a discount too!)

    • racingthestates March 21, 2014 at 11:24 am #

      Also, I understand how tough a decision that is. I was super sad when I mad ethe decision not to do the Sedona Marathon.

  6. jumpeatrun March 21, 2014 at 11:34 am #

    Oh no! I’m sorry top hear that, but sometimes you just have to make those judgement calls. I did the same with running the NYC marathon in November…mine was injury related, but still a really hard trigger to pull :(
    You are going to rock it whenever you do it though!!

  7. Scott Adcox March 25, 2014 at 11:56 am #

    You qualified! That’s 90% of it anyway. Go out and run 26.2 with some decent hills thrown in self-supported, and it counts in my book. Nobody will ask in 20 years what your time was for Boston–they’ll ask what your Q time was to get in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 640 other followers

