And Just Like That

9 Apr

Interesting thing happened 2 Saturdays ago. I got injured. Not taking a tumble on a trail, not teaching a fitness class, not trying some crazy Yoga transition or even chasing a crazy toddler, but from stepping off a curb during my long run. I didn’t even twist it or anything, just stepped hard. I remembered doing it and it was sore for the remainder of my run but it wasn’t anything that made me limp around. Stupid city running.

Some people are city runners and others are not.

I am not. I was doing my long run of 20 miles in downtown Phoenix while visiting a friend. Do you know how hard it is to get so many miles in that city without literally running every street??? Good grief. I did get a great tour of the city (the art district, the stadium, Spring Training madness, ASU campus, etc) and I did figure out where to go for sushi and drinks that night, though. I will always choose trail. Always. But it was a good change of pace… well, except for the hurt ankle.

seen on my run

running through Phoenix art district

I can’t run.

Like, at all. Not a mile, not down the street, not even down the driveway. It’s a high ankle sprain and there is absolutely nothing I can do about it except for rest and ice and ibuprofen. I thought it would be okay after a couple of days off. I don’t limp (except going downstairs – then I just look silly), it’s not really swollen, but no, after a couple of days I still wasn’t able to take Stella for a brisk walk. Ouch. About a week later a tried with success to do the Step Mill. So I have been hitting up that machine for 30-60 minute workouts and then yesterday, I took a spin class and was able to do that with minor discomfort, the row machine is fine, but the second I have any impact – there is instant pain and I can’t even hobble my way through it.

Coping

I have a lot going on right now so that helps redirect some of that energy. I launched my business at Catalyst Fitness and picked up some new clients and I’m teaching plenty of classes. I’m still hitting the gym and love the Step Mill, Spin classes, and the row machine. But it is definitely not the same as running. I’m still trying to keep my level of endurance up there and not doing my weekend long runs are going to kill me so I would like to figure out how to get my 3-4 hours of endurance training in Saturday morning. I think I’m going to have to buck up and do 1 hour Step Mill – 1 hour Spin class – 1 hour Step Mill. But that just sounds awful!!!! We’ll see.

Funny how things work out

I can’t imagine what I would be feeling if I was still planning to run Boston on April 21st. I would be freaking out and most likely not tolerable to be around! Spending all that money, making all those travel arrangements and not being able to run. Crazy. It is funny how things work out, ya know. I’m still planning on North Fork 50 Miler on June 28th but will not do Greenland 50K on May 3rd. Janice, the race director for North Fork hosts several training runs on the race course with the first one coming in 2 weeks so I want to heal up and try out my ankle then. I will also start water jogging this weekend too. Anything to keep me moving.

Oh to be running at Waterton Canyon again...

Oh to be running at Waterton Canyon again… It was stupid muddy that day as you can see.

I have some good workouts for you this Friday so stay tuned for those. Until then, any tips or advice on keeping up my endurance without the long run?

12 Responses to “And Just Like That”

  1. Dominick S. April 9, 2014 at 3:54 pm #

    PILATES.

  2. vttrailgirl April 9, 2014 at 7:03 pm #

    Well, actually *dislike on the sprain. Did you see a Dr.?

    • kandjcolorado April 10, 2014 at 2:23 pm #

      Other than my doctor friends, no. I trusted their opinion about it and it saved me a copay ;-)

  3. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast April 9, 2014 at 7:48 pm #

    What?! Oh no!!! That is the worst…and so similar to how I got injured this fall, too… it just came out of nowhere. :( I remember doing some elliptical then spin then elliptical or pool back to back to get a mock endurance run in, although I don’t know if I did more than 2- 2.5 hours. Keep us posted. PS- the business site looks awesome!!

    • kandjcolorado April 10, 2014 at 2:21 pm #

      Yep, not the spring season I had in mind. It’s just so silly, because I wasn’t doing anything crazy but yet here we are. I still can’t do the elliptical either – but I will do what I can but I sure do miss my running! And thanks for checking out the website. It’s a process for sure!

  4. lboogiebean April 10, 2014 at 8:07 am #

    Take care of yourself! I hope you’re healed and able to run soon.

  5. Terzah April 11, 2014 at 9:23 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear this happened! Swimming really helped me get through my foot stress fracture last winter. I don’t like it very much–very boring–but it’s a great cardio workout and I was able to transition back to running feeling pretty good. Fingers crossed for quick healing for you!

    • kandjcolorado April 12, 2014 at 5:58 pm #

      That’s right! I think I could handle some floppy flutter kick ankles. I just need to figure out how to not lose my freaking mind!!!!

  6. stridingmom April 12, 2014 at 3:11 pm #

    Ugh those are the WORST injuries. I literally banged my knee on a coffee table a few months back and was out for 10 days or so…I’d say swimming for sure. That’s the one way I have always found to keep my fitness in check when off the high impact stuff.

    • kandjcolorado April 12, 2014 at 5:58 pm #

      Ugh. Pool is right up there with root canal for me. We will see….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

